Review: Kiera Cass – The Elite (The Selection #2)

***

Blurb: 

In America Singer’s world, a bride is chosen for the prince through an elaborate televised competition. In the second book of the Selection series, America is one of only six girls left in the running. But is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—she wants? Or is it Aspen, her first love?

***

Attention! If you haven’t read The Selection, consider yourself warned! Review contains possible spoilers for book 1!

***

The Selection (book 1) was great, I really liked it and I was sad that I had to wait such a long time for The Elite. But finally it was here and I was excited to be in this world with Maxon and America again.

After book 1 we were left in a situation when there were only six girls left in the Selection, with America as one of them. The book starts with a nice and romantic scene between America and Maxon – the book had me immediately.

But then I was asking myself if this was going on like this: America and Maxon are like already married and Maxon sort of playing with the five other girls until America finally says YES to Maxon. Well … haha, I was SO wrong, guys.

Where the first book was mostly to get to know America and Maxon better (well, and Aspen too), the second book finally showed some really great problems – and not only America’s incapability to choose between Maxon and Aspen. No, shit just got real.

The rebels were attacking more this time and some of the girls (I won’t say who) in The Selection are having some serious issues.

The story finally evolved to something more serious, it’s no longer something like The Bachelor with a hint of THG. Now the THG part has become even bigger. And I’m thrilled by that.

Don’t get me wrong, the book contained still enough romantic scenes between the main characters but as I said it wasn’t just this. It was exciting and captivating because well … with all the stuff going on around The Selection and then the sort-of love triangle … At the end of book 1 I was sure that America will end up as Maxon’s wife and Queen. After reading The Elite I have to admit that now I’m not so sure of it anymore.

Good god, I even started to like Aspen again! While reading the book I was really confused because America and Maxon weren’t always the perfect couple, they had their own problems. And this made me thinking about the possible ending of the series.

Gaaaaaah! I don’t how to process my thoughts towards the book. I just know that I really, really liked it and that I loved it more than the first book. And I’m still Team Maxon (he’s way better than Aspen).

And I want to read The One NOW!

4.5 of 5 sheep. Awesome book. 

***

blurb & cover source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Dystopie-Post-Apokalypse abgelegt und mit , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

