Review: Kristen Day – Daughters of the Sea series (Books 1-3)

***

Blurb (of book 1: Forsaken)

Once you’ve been touched by darkness, it never leaves you…

Abandoned by her parents as an infant; seventeen year old Hannah spent her childhood wading through countless foster families until being adopted by the Whitmans three years ago.

Unfortunately, Atlanta’s high society wasn’t quite ready for Hannah…or the strange events that plague her.
Chilling visions of murder, unexplained hallucinations, and a dark, mysterious guy who haunts her nightmares all culminate to set in motion a journey of self-discovery that will challenge everything she’s ever believed; not to mention her sanity.

Sent to live at The House of Lorelei on Bald Head Island, NC for ‘kids like her’, Hannah quickly realizes things are not what they seem. Her fellow ‘disturbed’ teens are actually the descendents of mythical Sea Gods and Goddesses. And so is she.

But when Finn, the ghost from her dreams, appears in the flesh; her nightmares become reality and her dark visions begin coming true. Inexplicably drawn to him, she can’t deny the dangerous hold he has on her heart. The deadly secrets he harbors will ultimately test her courage and push the boundaries of her love.

She must decide if she is ready to embrace the ancient legend she is prophesized to be a part of. The fate of all the descendents will forever depend upon it.

note: I won’t post the other two blurbs because they’re a little too spoilery for those who want to read the books. 

***

When I started the Daughters of the Sea series I just wanted to read something that wasn’t like all the other books or some stupid chick-lit where you can predict everything that will eventually happen. After reading five pages.

Well, so I stalked Goodreads (that’s where I ~found those books), finally fed my reader and … became addicted. Okay, it was an addiction that came slowly – but it hit me hard when I fell in love with everything in the books. Such a beautiful story!

I always was a fan of books about gods and their descendants, so when I read the blurb of book 1 (“Forsaken”) I was happy that I finally found another story in this genre.

I have to be honest. When I started reading this book I wasn’t expecting very much because I often was disappointed by books in this genre. In the beginning Forsaken seemed to be like just another young adult fantasy book: abandoned girl didn’t know how to fit into society, then discovered that she wasn’t entirely human.

But, oh my god, it only felt like this for the first few chapters. After the (almost lame) beginning was over it just was wonderful and addicting. I fell in love with this book and its follow-ups.

First we have Hannah. Or Anastasia. Btw, I had a hard time to get used to her new name she gave herself after starting the new school. But it didn’t take long. It made sense after a few chapters.  Stasia was an awesome heroine, I really liked her. Not only because of her temper, her character was just awesome. And she learned really quickly to control her abilities – and became kick-ass Stasia. LOL. The only thing that bothered me a little about her was that she almost immediately believed her roommates when they told her she was a descendant of a sea goddess. “You’re a sea goddess.” – “Okay, I believe you.”

And then there’s Finn – a guy that got himself immediately a place on my list of book boyfriends. Dark and handsome, he can be scary but also really cute – no wonder Stasia fell in love with him. He wasn’t perfect but that made me like him even more. Except the fact that he ALWAYS knew more than he admitted to Stasia. Gosh, was I pissed sometimes … But in the end I loved him even more.

I also loved (almost) all of the minor characters, especially Stasia’s roommates, Carmen, Phoebe and Willow. The girls were great. Sometimes they reminded me of my own friends. Minus the goddess abilities, lol.

A very good point for loving this book was the fact that there’s no love triangle in it. I believe some of you understand why this made me SO happy, lol.

When the first book was over I was glad that I could immediately continue reading because the story and the character had me completely (and because of the ~nice ending^^).

The second book (“Awaken”) picked up the story directly after the first one. And it was even better than the first one. I really couldn’t put my reader down, it was awesome. I hadn’t thought that a second book could be even better than the first one but here that was the case.

But at the end I really wanted to scream and throw my reader against a wall. I really didn’t expect this kind of ending …

Thankfully there was a third book (“Chosen”) that gave a conclusion to all problems. I was SO happy with the end, that everything was good. It was a little cheesy but altogether it was a really great conclusion to the story.

All the characters really were great and I was sad when it was over. But then I discovered that there was a fourth book coming this fall. Can’t wait for Hearken!

***

Ratings: 

Forsaken (book 1): 

Awaken (book 2): 

Chosen (book 3): 

Altogether for the whole series: 

***

blurb & cover source: goodreads.com

 

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

