Review: Melissa West – Hover (The Taking #2)

Blurb:

On Earth, seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander was taught to never peek, but if she hopes to survive life on her new planet, Loge, her eyes must never shut. Because in this world, pleasure is everything, held up by a ruling body that keeps their people in check by giving them what they want and closing their eyes to what’s really happening around them. The only hope Loge has is to move its people to Earth, and they have a plan.

Thousands of humans crossed over to Loge after a poisonous neurotoxin released into Earth’s atmosphere, nearly killing them. They sought refuge in hopes of finding a new life, but what they became were slaves, built to wage war against their home planet. That is, unless Ari and Jackson can stop them. But on Loge, nothing is as it seems…and no one can be trusted.

***

Release Date: August 13th 2013 (Entangled Teen)

***

When I received the email containing the eARC of Hover I felt like the happiest girl on earth! Gosh, I couldn’t wait for this book to come out so I could finally read it. And then I got the chance to read it before its actual release? *internally screaming* *happy dance* (just so you know: this was my first (e)ARC ever. Thanks again for sending it to me ♥)

I was so happy when I got the eBook on my reader that I forgot all the other books that were supposed to be read before Hover because I HAD TO READ IT IMMEDIATELY! It was great! Loved it!

Sadly, I had forgotten a lot of things that happened in Gravity before, so I hoped that the most important events of the first book were retold in Hover. I wasn’t disappointed. And it didn’t seem to be forced; it blended in perfectly in the new story.

When I had finally found my way back into the story I really couldn’t stop reading. It was really great and I fell in love with the characters again. Old and new ones as well.

I really like Ari, she’s some kickass heroine and her development in the book was great. I really understood her motivations and her reluctance towards Jackson. Well, mostly.

I have to admit that I had a hard time falling for Jackson again because he really was a complete new person on his own planet. I mean, I knew he couldn’t be the same one like on earth but this was a little extreme.

I really won’t spoil anything of the story but I can say that it was great and addicting. I guess Melissa’s awesome writing has a lot to do with that 😀

… and I wanted to throw my reader against the wall when I read the last page. What an evil ending! But it made me craving for Collide a lot more! I want to know what happens next!

Loved it! 4 of 5 sheep ♥

***

Cover & Blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-SciFi abgelegt und mit , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

