Review: Kate Evangelista – Taste

Blurb: At Barinkoff Academy, there’s only one rule: no students on campus after curfew. Phoenix McKay soon finds out why when she is left behind at sunset. A group calling themselves night students threaten to taste her flesh until she is saved by a mysterious, alluring boy. With his pale skin, dark eyes, and mesmerizing voice, Demitri is both irresistible and impenetrable. He warns her to stay away from his dangerous world of flesh eaters. Unfortunately, the gorgeous and playful Luka has other plans.

When Phoenix is caught between her physical and her emotional attraction, she becomes the keeper of a deadly secret that will rock the foundations of an ancient civilization living beneath Barinkoff Academy. Phoenix doesn’t realize until it is too late that the closer she gets to both Demitri and Luka the more she is plunging them all into a centuries old feud.

***

This book was a complete surprise for me! I was just looking for a book that wasn’t some contemporary chick-lit stuff because I read too much of that in the last time. So I stalked many shelves at goodreads, hoping to find something to satisfy me at least a little. But what I got instead was absolutely awesome!

I fell in love with the characters, even with the female MC – which doesn’t happen very often – and I was more than sad when I read the last page. But I was only sad that it was over, not because of the ending, lol.

The story was incredibly awesome and what’s the most important fact: it wasn’t about vampires or shape shifters or witches or … or … or … I was very happy about that because – let’s be honest – vampires and all the other creatures have almost lost its attraction. Well … at least for me. So I started the “experiment” with Taste and finally read a book about … Zombies. Sort of. Okay, I should at least explain this a little. It’s because they’re no Zombies in the classic meaning, but I won’t explain this entirely in my review, you have to discover this for yourself by reading the book (what I really recommend you to!). But later in the review I will say something about this, too.

The characters were great. I really liked Phoenix. She’s someone you just have to love sooner or later because she never (really, I’m not telling any jokes) acts like she’s supposed to. But besides that she’s also very caring for the people she loves. And once she starts something, she finishes it! I really appreciate those character traits.

And now I’m already swooning again because … Demitri. God, I want to marry this guy. He’s just awesome. And dark haired, has dark eyes (*drool*) and is really hot – litteraly *lol* But what I really liked about him and his introduction was that he wasn’t the friendliest and greatest guy in the beginning … he was cold and mean and, well … I didn’t really like him at first. But he showed his real face later. The more I read of the book, the more I loved him. (In case you wonder, yes, he’s one of those “Zombies”.) His development was great!

And then there was a second guy. Yay. Not. Sorry, but when I read this that there were two main male characters my joy about the story slightly dropped. But not for long … Okay, I think I should stop here and tell you about Luka. He’s the complete opposite of Demitri. (Surprise, Surprise!) Luka was always joyful and happy and loved his life. At least it seemed to be – but for this plotline I recommend you again to read the book!

All of the other characters were great as well, especially Dray. I loved that little Zombie-Nerd.

I loved the idea with those Zombie-like creatures because this was finally something new, respectively I’ve never read something like this before. I have to admit that at first I thought it was disgusting because … ZOMBIES! You know what I mean … creeping, ugly flesh heaps that eat humans. Not very nice. But those Zhamvy are great! And the whole story around them … just great.

… and in the end I even cried a little. 5 of 5 sheep. Loved it!

***

Cover & Blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

