Review: Amy Plum – If I Should Die (Die For Me #3)

4 of 5 sheep to If I Should Die by Amy Plum

***

Blurb:

Kate is devastated. Her boyfriend Vincent is a revenant who waited lifetimes to find her. But once he did their future together was shattered almost immediately. They were betrayed by their trusted ally, Violette. She killed Vincent and destroyed his body so that he could not be reanimated.

Now Vincent is doomed to roam the earth as a spirit. But Kate isn’t willing to accept life without her true love. She’ll risk anything to save him, even as Violette, their friend-turned-enemy, begins to wage a war to rule over France’s Immortals.

***

Attention! Spoilers ahead! Read carefully!

I was so freakin‘ excited for this book because after the ending of Until I Die (Book 2 in the series) I had to wait for a whole year. This was pure torture. So you’d guess right imagining how I’d reacted when I held the book finally in my hands. Or on my reader – that’s the same thing, I guess.

And I really liked it. It was a good conclusion for the story and I’m really sad that it’s over. I really fell in love with the characters and the whole world Amy Plum has created. And we shouldn’t forget to mention that it took place in Paris, most beautiful city in the world and stuff. I’m going to miss all of the Revenants, especially Jules Marchenoir.

… which leads me to my next topic. Or my first.

I’m a little disappointed about the ending of the whole Jules-loves-Kate-story. And “a little” means “BIG TIME” in my world. I didn’t know what to expect and how the non-existing love triangle is going to end but I was sure Jules wouldn’t be the winner in this ~fight. And that’s not what disappointed me, no, it was the way it ended. They went to NYC and when Vincent was “back” (Which is my next topic, guys. Prepare yourself for it, lol.) Jules decided he stayed in the U.S. Well done. And after that? It seemed that Jules was almost forgotten. His tiny appearance in the end wasn’t really satisfying.  And there was more. Especially one scene where I wanted to crawl into my reader and hug him and stuff *coughs* xD

To end this topic I have to say that I really, really, really wish that there will be a spin-off some day, playing in NYC. I would like to see that Jules is happy where he is now. Gosh, that sounds like he died or something. But no, I would like to see him happy and like he was before. I hope he can forget Kate.

Okay, next one: Vincent. That he came back wasn’t even a surprise (and I think it’s not a spoiler either). Since the end of Until I Die I knew he would be back in the third book. (Anything different would have been very cruel.) And I kind of missed him. Even after reading Die For Her where Vincent wanted to prove my nerves when he stalked Kate. When he finally was back I screamed at my reader, “FINALLY! It was about time!” (And yeah, I don’t want to know what my roommate thought at that moment, lol)

Let’s talk about Kate. I won’t say what happens to her but there’s one thing that is fucking obvious. And I guessed it since the beginning of book 2. And I was right! *gives herself a high five* I think it’s great for Vincent and her. This way all of their problems have been solved and Vincent doesn’t have to torture himself any longer.

The ending itself was great. I almost crawled into my reader and wanted to fight side by side with our favorite Revenants. I will miss them. But I can live with the end – when I’m ignoring Jules.

Altogether 4 of 5 sheep.

***

IMG & Blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

