Review: Tara Sivec – Seduction and Snacks (Chocolate Lovers #1)

4 of 5 sheep to Seduction and Snacks by Tara Sivec

***

Blurb: 

Claire is a twenty-something, single mom that grudgingly helps her best friend sell sex toys while she attempts to make enough money to start her own business to give her foul-mouthed, but extremely loveable (when he’s asleep) toddler a better life. 

When Carter, the one-night-stand from her past that changed her life forever, shows up in her hometown bar without any recollection of her besides her unique chocolate scent, Claire will make it a point that he remembers her this time. 

With Carter’s undisguised shock at suddenly finding out he has a four-year-old son and Claire’s panic that her stretch marks and slim to none bedroom experience will send the man of her dreams heading for the hills, the pair will do whatever they can to get their happily ever after.

***

Okay, first things first: I’ve never ever laughed this hard while reading a book. This was awesome. I had to put my reader aside during some parts of the book because I couldn’t focus on the words. Thankfully I stalked some other reviews before starting this and because of that I didn’t read in public places. That would have been kind of awkward. I guess.

The humor was great but the plot was … well … average. (I think this book was on my to read shelf because of the yummy cover^^) Let me outline the story for you: Girl has one night stand on a college party (It was her first time … um … yeah. I won’t add another commentary to this.), a few weeks later she discovers her pregnancy but – and here’s the problem – she can’t find the guy she slept with. She doesn’t even know his name. Four years later … okay, I think you know what will happen. The guy suddenly appears and after a few ~difficulties he finally became a part of her and her son’s life.

The characters were great. I really liked Claire. She was sarcastic as hell and her view toward different things of life were awesome. And hilarious. Even the beginning where she spoke about the birth of her child … the book had me by the very first chapter. Carter was also cool. I liked him – even if he was a little less funny. But I think that had to be like this because if he was exactly like Claire and her son I would have died. LOL. But the best part of the story was four-year-old Gavin. God, I loved this little boy and his involuntary humor.

But the book wasn’t all the way awesome. There were some parts where I felt the urge to lift my eyebrows. And sometimes the humor was … too much. I knew that the author wanted to be funny in some parts but I couldn’t help myself – it was too hard and not even funny.

But anyway – I really liked it.

There’s also a second book to Claire and Carter’s story (»Futures and Frosting«). I will write the review later. 

*** 

IMG & Blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Adult-Contemporary, Buch-Rezensionen abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

