Review: John Green – The Fault in Our Stars

5 of 5 sheep to The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

***

BLURB:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel s story is about to be completely rewritten.

***

I never wanted to read a book like this. Okay, seems a little bit hard considering my rating, but it is true. A book about cancer and you know that you WILL cry in the end – not really my thing. I generally don’t read a lot of books with a big dose of drama, not really my taste … But that’s another story …

A lot of my reading buddies who read The Fault in Our Stars finally made me curious. Well, anyway, there was a long time I refused to read it because of one single reason: I was scared.

But in the end … well, I wouldn’t write this review if I hadn’t read it, right? Okay, my curiosity won and so, I started it. (I was still scared, but who cares?)

And I loved it. It was one of the greatest books I ever read.

The characters were awesome – even if I refused to fall in love with the main characters for about a third of the whole book. Why? Yeah, you know … I was scared because of the ending. A book about cancer couldn’t really have a happily ever after where the two of them are riding together into the sunset. So my plan was not to fall in love with them, so in the end I wouldn’t be too sad.

But my ~plan wasn’t very successful. I failed big time.

Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters were extremely lovable. Nobody (listen to me, NOBODY!!) can resist them.

Hazel Grace meets Augustus at Cancer Kid Support Group and the two of them like each other immediately. The relationship between the two of them was awesome. Hazel and Augustus became friends, fell in love with each other and I was really happy about that.

And then there was the big elephant in the book. Right, I’m talking about the cancer. Even if I laughed a lot while reading it, I had always the feeling as if I was bursting into tears while turning the page. (It happened in the end, but I think nobody’s interested in that. And I had to use a lot of tissues.)

From time to time though, I almost forgot that Hazel and Augustus had cancer, because they were acting so … normal, almost like normal teenagers. I think that made me like the book so much. They tried to be normal even though they weren’t.

There wasn’t much that bothered me, only one thing. Those monster sentences. God, there were plenty of phrases that covered half a page! Why? WHY? Was this really necessary? Sometimes I thought the author didn’t want me to understand him.

That’s the only thing that annoyed me, besides that it was perfect and I recommend it to EVERYONE out there. (It’s also available in German, so there’s no excuse. German title: “Das Schicksal ist ein mieser Verräter”)

Read it. You won’t regret it.

Okay? Okay.

***

IMG & Blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Contemporary abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

