Review: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Opal (Lux #3)

3 of 5 sheep to „Opal“ by Jennifer L. Armentrout

***

Blurb: No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

***

Attention: the review is a little spoilery. Consider yourself warned.

I have to admit that I had quite a few expectations in this book before reading it. And those were really high because after the ending of Onyx I thought the third book in the Lux series would be pretty awesome. Well … unfortunately, I was wrong. And I’m very sad about that.

Okay, that doesn’t mean I didn’t like it (because I did) but when you’re waiting for something to happen in a book and the mentioned “something” doesn’t happen until the last 50 pages … this is quite disappointing.

But anyway, I enjoyed reading the book. Sort of. I was happy for Katy and Daemon and that they finally could be together and I have to admit that I fell even more in love with Daemon than I thought would be possible. I think there are very few other male fictional characters that can compete with him. Sometimes I wanted to jump into the book and push Katy aside *lol*

The development of the relationship between Katy and Daemon was quite important but I think it was a little too much in this book. Speaking of … After a while I was really annoyed that almost the entire storyline about their relationship was about their attempt of finally hooking up. And every fucking time they were interrupted. Okay, almost. LOL. I literally screamed out of joy (and out of relief) when it finally happened.

Another disappointment in the book was Dee. I loved her in the first two books but in Opal … What the hell was wrong with her? Okay, her reaction was understandable – sort of – but I think it was too much. Katy and Dee didn’t talk much about certain things. So what?! In the first book Dee wasn’t honest with Katy about her being an alien either. So I don’t really understand why she broke up their friendship. *shrugs*

And the ending. THE ENDING. That was cruel. Well, I assumed something like that would happen but this was just mean. (I’m trying to convince myself that the last few pages are missing in my copy^^)

There were also a few other things that bothered me but that would be TOO spoilery so I keep them for myself. (Just a few keywords: Dawson, Beth, Blake -.-)

The book only gets three sheep because I love the Lux series (and Daemon ♥) and I hope Origin (book 4) will be much better.

***

IMG & blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-SciFi abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

