Review: Kaitlin Bevis – Persephone (Daughters of Zeus #1)

5 sheep to Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

Blurb: There are worse things than death, worse people too

The “talk” was bad enough, but how many teens get told that they’re a goddess? When her mom tells her, Persephone is sure her mother has lost her mind. It isn’t until Boreas, the god of winter, tries to abduct her that she realizes her mother was telling the truth. Hades rescues her, and in order to safely bring Persephone to the Underworld he marks her as his bride. But Boreas will stop at nothing to get Persephone. Despite her growing feelings for Hades, Persephone wants to return to the living realm. Persephone must find a way to defeat Boreas and reclaim her life.

I found this book by clicking through my recommendations on Goodreads and I was very happy about it. There aren’t many good young adult books about Greek gods (or their descendants) but here, the blurb was very promising.

I was always into this kind of books because I love the original myths about Greek gods. The story with Hades and Persephone was always one of my favorites, so when I first read the blurb I was sure that I HAD TO READ IT.

And I do not regret it one bit. Because I freaking LOVED it. It was awesome ♥ It’s great to see that there are still books that can blow my mind like this. ♥

The characters were well written, I really loved them all. Especially Persephone (Goddess of Spring) was really nice. In other books, I always have issues with the female main character (I’m often annoyed because of their stupid girly behavior ^^) but here that wasn’t the case. Persephone was great and almost all of her decisions were comprehensible. I also really liked it that she wasn’t like “Oh, I’m a goddess, now I’m really awesome” when she first found out. She had to get used to it – which I totally understand. Her life is changing like … well, it changed extremely. Adding Hades (Lord of the Underworld) who saved her from Boreas (God of Winter) and took her into his realm … well, it would drive me crazy. But Persephone adapted very well with her new situation.

No wonder. I mean – with a guy like Hades around?! (Could you even say “guy” to Hades? oO I mean, he’s Lord of the Underworld. Not just any “guy” LOL)

Whoa, I must confess something: I fell in love with him. Never expected it would happen so fast. Before I read the book I always imagined Hades as … well, the ruler of the Underworld. Not as some dark, hot guy with blue eyes. In short: I never pictured him as the good guy.

I also loved how the relationship between Hades and Persephone developed. It wasn’t some love-at-first-sight thing – which I’m very grateful for. They’ll get to know each other first and then their feelings for each other grew. I simply loved the whole relationship thing ♥ There’s more to the whole thing concerning the relationship but I don’t want to spoil it – but it was very realistic and not this whole always-and-forever-until-the-world-ends kind of thing.

The book made me laugh a lot. I loved the dialogues (especially the first ones between Hades and Persephone) and the bickering between some of the characters.

The other characters were great as well. Cassandra, Melissa, Charon … well, I even liked Demeter in this book. The book was simply awesome. Everybody should read it. Period.

And now I’m going to finish Daughter of the Earth and Sky

***

IMG & blurb source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

