Review: Julie Kagawa – The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1)

4 of 5 sheep to „The Lost Prince“ by Julie Kagawa

***

Blurb: Don’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them.

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

***

I was really excited about this book because I LOVED the original book series (The Iron Fey), fell in love with the characters and was really sad when I was done with The Iron Knight. When I learned about the spinoff I literally screamed because I was SO happy about ~being in the Nevernever again. (Actually, I thought it was about Puck but Ethan was even better, I think ^^)

God, I missed the Nevernever and all its creatures. If I had a wish it would be to spend a day (or a week … or a month … or longer … LOL) in this world to discover some of the secrets ♥

After reading the prequel (or: the last Iron Fey Novella, #4.5) Iron’s Prophecy I got an idea what this series would be about and then I was even more excited to read it 😀

And … what can I say? The book was great, I really enjoyed reading it.

Ethan is really cool. It was great to read a whole book from a male point of view (there were no annoying female thoughts LOL), this doesn’t happen very often in the “young adult world.”

Then there’s Kenzie. She’s … well, she’s a girl. In the beginning she seemed to be very nice but the more I read about her the more she annoyed me. She’s also a reason why I can’t give a higher rating for the book. (I won’t say the exact reason because it would be a spoiler.)

And finally: Keirran. First of all: You sure he’s Ash’s son? Because he didn’t act like it. He was more like Puck. LOL. Is there anything Meghan didn’t tell her husband? ^^ But I really liked Keirran very much. He was funny.

Another reason why the book only gets a four star (or “sheep” on the blog) rating is the relationship between Ethan and Keirran. They reminded me a little too much of Ash and Puck. This isn’t a bad thing, I LOVED Ash and Puck’s bickering in the previous books but I thought the relationship between Ethan and Keirran would be a little different.

What I was really happy about were the appearances of the “old” characters. Even though they were very short I squealed every time someone made his/her appearance 😀

I’m really excited about the next book. The title (“The Traitor Son”) and what happened in the prequel made me think a lot about what could happen in the sequel. And I’m afraid that I’m right. But to answer this we have to wait until September 😉

***

Blurb & IMG source: goodreads.com

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Eine Antwort zu Review: Julie Kagawa – The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1)

  1. www.youtube.com schreibt:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I
    appreciate you writing this write-up and the
    rest of the site is also very good.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

