Review: Stephanie Perkins – Lola and the Boy Next Door

Blurb: For budding costume designer Lola Nolan, the more outrageous, the outfit – more sparkly, more fun, more wild – the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins move back into the house next door.

When the family returns and Cricket – a gifted inventor and engineer – steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. (source: goodreads.com)

I’m not really the kind of girl who reads this genre a lot … I’m more into fantasy stuff with vampires, angels, half-gods or something like this. But I love Stephanie Perkins’s books. After reading Anna and the French Kiss it was clear that I had to read Lola and the Boy Next Door!

… and I didn’t regret it. ♥

At first it was a bit difficult to get into the book because Lola was a bit strange. I needed a few pages to get to know her before she was likeable to me. (I mean, she “believes in costume”? oO Seriously? The girl is crazy *lol*)
Her boyfriend was also a thing that made it hard for me to fall for the books instantly … Max was a jerk who thought he’s the greatest guy on earth oO I did believe this from the very beginning and I was right in the end! HA!
Whom I liked from the very beginning was Cricket ♥ (Besides – WHAT is this for a name? oO Never heard it before oO) He’s some science nerd who you have to love 🙂

The plot was cute and I couldn’t put it down until I finished reading the last page – at least after the strange beginning.
The ending was a little bit lame but after the ending with Anna and St. Clair … Nothing could top this ♥ *_*

The other characters were also really cool. I LOVED Lola’s dads. I never read something like this before in a book that a girl had two gay dads.
I even liked Lola’s birthmother although she’s a difficult person. Her best friend was also likeable …
And then there’s Calliope Bell – Cricket’s twin. What a stupid bitch. I hated her! Everything in her family was about her and her figure skating bullshit. Poor Cricket, his whole life he had to take a backseat … *sigh* No wonder, he’s happy with going to college to have something for HIMSELF!

Aaaaaaaaand Cricket and Lola met again! ♥ I really liked the romance between the two of them! Sometimes I wanted to jump into the book and force the two of them to do something for the other (perhaps force them to finally kiss!!!) but I was glad that they managed it without any of my help in the end.

And the most important … Anna and St. Clair were also in the book ♥ I missed them and I was happy that they are still a couple ♥♥♥ Would be nice to read another whole book about them.

Altogether: 4 of 5 stars!

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Contemporary abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

