Review: Simone Elkeles – Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Chemistry #1)

Blurb: When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created ‚perfect‘ life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for: her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect.

Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart. (source: goodreads.com)

Perfect Chemistry could be described in only a few words: cheesy, predictable, cliché-ridden, stupid. There isn’t much to add.

The book is some sort of mixture between Grease and some Romeo and Juliet story. At the beginning of her senior year in high school cheerleader Brittany is forced to be lab-partners with Alex, a Mexican gang-member, who’s actually very different than he seems to be. (Besides, while I read this and every time someone pronounced Alex’s full name I had to sing the matching Lady Gaga song *sings “Alejandro” along*)

Since the very beginning of the story it was clear what would happen. The chemistry lab-partners, the bet (well, yes, I expected this … even before I started reading it), the friendship that developed suddenly (I still ask myself if I missed something because in my opinion they became friends too fast. There were only a few dialogues – which weren’t really dialogues – and after those they were the closest friends? WTF?) and finally, the feelings they had for each other.

There were too many clichés in the book. Let alone that Brittany was a cheerleader, the most perfect girl in high school, but in her family life she’s had a hard time was very predictable.
For Alex, there’s the same thing … He’s some criminal who wanted more, going to college and stuff …

The ending and the epilogue … Well, I thought I should say something about them but when I remember them I’m only really annoyed again. So … no.

The reason the book gets two stars instead of only one is the fact that I caught myself often in wanting to know what happens next … Yeah, I know, stupid of me because it was very clear but I still hoped it would be different ^^ I was wrong.

I think I’m cured for a long time in reading contemporary books.

2 of 5 stars.

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Contemporary abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

