Review: Kimberly Derting – The Last Echo (The Body Finder #3)

Blurb: In the end, all that’s left is an echo.

Violet kept her morbid ability to sense dead bodies a secret from everyone except her family and her childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Jay Heaton. That is until forensic psychologist Sara Priest discovered Violet’s talent and invited her to use her gift to track down murderers. Now, as she works with an eclectic group of individuals—including mysterious and dangerously attractive Rafe—it’s Violet’s job to help those who have been murdered by bringing their killers to justice.

When Violet discovers the body of a college girl killed by “the girlfriend collector” she is determined to solve the case. But now the serial killer is on the lookout for a new “relationship” and Violet may have caught his eye… (source: goodreads.com)

I was really excited for the third book in The Body Finder series. I liked book 1 (The Body Finder) and book 2 (Desires of the Dead) and after waiting very long, The Last Echo was finally there!

I really missed Violet and especially Jay. They were totally cute as a couple and I wanted to read more of it. Well, in the book itself were a few scenes with the two of them but I think that Jay could have had more appearances. This is only my impression but I missed him in a lot of chapters.

Yeah, and instead of him there was Rafe. I didn’t know what to think of him in book 2 because he was one of those mysterious guys who wouldn’t talk much but know everything oO In the beginning of The Last Echo this was also like that. He became a friend of Violet and they had this strange connection, but I still don’t understand him. (I think this is maybe the case because I’m totally Team Jay!)

Vi and Rafe became very close (although Rafe doesn’t talk much) and I understood all the reasons for this. They ~work together and Vi finally met some people who were like her. Those people had very similar problems like her. I was happy for Vi that she finally could talk about her ability with other people than her parents or Jay.

The story was thrilling – as the other two stories before were, too. There were only a few annoying things. I don’t want to spoil them because they were about the killer in the book and would be very mean to tell them to anybody who wanted to read this book 😉

And the ending … this was a surprise to me. But I understood Violets decision. (Those who read the book would know what I’m talking about^^) And because of this I’m already excited for the fourth and last book in the series!

Altogether: 4 of 5 stars! (I liked it more than the second book)

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

