Review: Julie Kagawa – The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)

Blurb: „In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.“Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of „them.“ The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked–and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend–a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what–and who–is worth dying for. (source: goodreads.com)

Well, I have no idea how to start this review. This never happened before when I reviewed a book but in case of The Immortal Rules I have a lot to say but I don’t really know how to explain my problems with the story.

My rating will be 3 out of 5 stars.

I struggled a lot with the rating because I really wanted to love the book but there were several things that annoyed me. But let’s begin with the things I liked 😉

First, the whole first part – when Allison was still human. I thought that she was a tough girl who knows how to survive in a world like this. The cruel world and all the evil creatures she had to face every day … she did well and this made me like her at first. And I was really sorry for her in the end of this part.

Second, Kanin. Cool guy. I really liked him. Well, he’s a vampire and after the first part I thought that all of them were cruel monsters but Kanin wasn’t like this. He was Allie’s mentor and teached her almost everything he knew. He made some mistakes in his past but, well, he came to his mind and tries everything to solve the problems. I really hope to meet him again!

Third, the fact that the vampires in this book are real vampires who are free to act like real ones. I mean, we all read about sparkling ones drinking animal blood, right? I also really liked that they couldn’t survive in the sun and had to drink human blood. I read enough vampire stories where they didn’t need to feed on humans … after a while this was really annoying but here … hell yes!

Fourth, the ending. (I won’t spoil this, so you have to read the book for youself if you want to know the ending.)

Okay, let’s go to the things that annoyed me …

First, the fact that Allie obeyed to everything Kanin said. From the very beginning she met him (as a vampire). She questioned only a few of the things he told her. First she had her own mind and then she was a vampire who did everything her mentor told her? oO

Second, Zeke. And hey, this is a first one for me. In nearly all the books I read I fell in love with the male main character, but Zeke is … well … oO What I liked about him is his name. Strange names are my favorites and he has a REALLY ~good one *lol* But his name and his good-looking appearance won’t fix the problems I had with him. I read in another review (I don’t know anymore which one it was, so I’m sorry for not quoting correctly^^) that he’s “the male version of Bella Swan” and I think that’s a good description. There isn’t much to add.

Third, the two last parts of the book. I think they were too ~long. All the walking and talking annoyed me after a while. And in the very end all went very fast oO

I don’t want to say more about my problems (not only because my English has its limits^^) for not spoiling too much. Even though it seems that I didn’t like the book, believe me – I did. But I hope that book 2 will be more satisfying.

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Dystopie-Post-Apokalypse abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

