Review: Amy Plum – Until I Die (Revenants #2)

Blurb: I wish there was only today, just right now, and no forever.

It seems fitting that I fell in love in Paris, the most beautiful city in the world. And if I pretend, I can almost believe that my life is normal and everyone I care about is safe.

But as long as I’m with Vincent, normal doesn’t exist. Gorgeous, charming, and witty, he’s everything you could ask for in a boyfriend—but his destiny is so much more.

Even more terrifying than his destiny are his dangerous enemies, enemies who will kill for immortality. How are Vincent and I supposed to be together forever if we’re always in danger?

I know I’ll do whatever it takes—even if it means lying to the people I love—to fight against a fate that is trying to tear us apart. (source: goodreads.com)

I was really, really, really excited for Until I Die because I loved Die For Me and I couldn’t wait for the sequel.
The characters in Die For Me were great, I instantly fell in love with Vincent, Jules, Ambrose and Kate.

But now, after finishing Until I Die, I’m a little disappointed. It seems like the typical book in the middle of a trilogy … There were a few started plot lines which weren’t finished in the second book.
The book was also quite predictable. I knew after a few pages what eventually would happen. (This is not really negative, I read a lot and it happens very often that I foresee the whole plot from the very beginning). But sometimes I wish that a book surprises me … But in Until I Die this was not the case. (Especially concerning the “bad guy” in the book – It was very clear who it was^^) Too bad! I hope If I Should Die (book 3 in the series) will do better!

Yeah, the two main characters … Kate and Vincent were a little annoying in the book. I mean, most of the time I loved them and I squealed about their romantic scenes – although those scenes were pretty cheesy, but the two of them are allowed to do this – but (yes, there is a big but) the thing about not talking to each other … Fail! On the one hand I can understand Kate that she doesn’t tell Vincent about her plans because he doesn’t either. But this was some sort of kindergarten behavior, I think. “You don’t tell me, so me neither!” *rolleyes* I didn’t like it very much.

I was very pissed about the ending of the book. I mean, it IS clear that it is not as what it seems to be (this would be very mean oO) but ending the book with THIS cliffhanger was a big fail.
And now we have to wait until spring 2013 for book 3? Noooooo, I don’t want to wait for such a long time after this ending! This is horrible! -.-

Hehe, well, regarding my review it seems like I’m only complaining about the negative sides of the book … but there were more positive than negative things in the book and I really liked reading it. I was caught again by the world Amy Plum has created and I wished for more than one time that I could jump into the book and live with the Revenants!
Especially Jules … *swoon* God, why is he not real? I want some guy like him! His flirty attitude towards Kate and his protectiveness when Vincent asks him for made me love him even more than in the first book!
I’m glad there isn’t a love triangle but regarding Jules I sometimes wish there was. Kate and Jules are also very cute together *sigh* Yeah, but I think I couldn’t decide who would be better for Kate.
I also like all the other characters (well, not the evil ones^^), Ambrose, JB, Gaspard, Charlotte (whom I missed a lot in the book! I hope this will change in book 3!)

Altogether: 3.5 of 5 stars!

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

