Review: Amy Plum – Die For Me (Revenants #1)

Blurb: My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia, and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy, and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies . . . immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

While I’m fighting to piece together the remnants of my life, can I risk putting my heart—as well as my life and my family’s—in jeopardy for a chance at love? (source: goodreads.com)

This book was on my to read list since … forever and, well, on some boring day I finally started it. It took me only ~24 hours to finish it … and I loved it ♥

You might be wondering why there’s only a 4-star-rating when I fell in love with the story … But there were a few things that kind of annoyed me while reading it. I will get through them first because there are more positive things to talk about.

Discovering what a revenant is was really weird in my opinion. At first I didn’t get it because all of them (means: Vincent, Jules and the others) were talking almost all at once and it was hard to follow. And then there were always new things to discover. When I thought I understood those … um … creatures there was another ability. Kind of annoyed me. But in the end I knew what those guys could do. At least I think so.

And then there is Georgia. Well, at first I liked her but she turned out to be a jealous bitch. Perhaps it’s not really jealousy but she acted really bitchy sometimes that made me think of what got into her! But in the end she came to her senses.

There was also a part of the plot that I disliked a little but it would be spoilery so I don’t mention it.

What I really LOVED about the books were the other characters. Nearly ALL of them were great. Especially Kate and Vincent. Vincent is some kind of badass with several gentleman character traits and THAT let me really fall for him.
Kate was also really likeable. Her past was hard for her and at first I wasn’t sure that together with the revenant-thing would be a plot to like for me … But Kate acted, well, ~normal and that made me like her even more.

And Vincent’s “family” … They made me giggle (or sometimes laugh out VERY loud) very often. My favorites are Jules and Ambrose *_*
But of course the others are also great characters. I almost felt at home when Kate was in Vincent’s house. ♥

But my favorite part was that the whole story took place in Paris ♥ Oh, Paris, je t’aime ♥ My favorite city, favorite country, favorite language! Though I wished there was more French talking in the book I really loved the lines that weren’t in English! ♥

In the end I nearly crawled into my reader to help saving all of the guys and Kate *lol* Very well written!
And the very end was cute … almost TOO cute in my opinion. Okay, it WAS cheesy.

A funny book that is definitely very addictive!

Altogether: 4 of 5 stars!

Anmerkung: Das Buch ist mittlerweile auch auf Deutsch unter dem Titel „Von der Nacht verzaubert“ erschienen.

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

