Review: Amy A. Bartol – Intuition (The Premonition #2)

Blurb:I don’t open my eyes so I can’t see him, but I can smell him. He thickens the air I breathe, choking me with his scent…his aroma. I shiver. I have to resist. If I’m not strong, then I will be relegated to the same fate as this predator whose sickness infects me even now. But now, I crave him and he knows that; he has been counting on my need to end the gnawing pain. How he would savor my surrender. I’m alive, but how much longer will it take until I beg him not to be? (source: goodreads.com)

Well, It’s been almost a week since I finished reading the book and I’ve been struggling with the rating. There were several things that annoyed me a little but there’ve also been many things I really loved. I decided to give 3.5 stars out of 5…

I really loved the story between Reed and Evie. The two of them are great together. The feelings they have for each other were … My heart often made a jump when Reed did something for Evie ♥

Reed is a great character, he really cares for Evie and all of his friends. He wants to be with Evie and he would do everything to save her.
And that’s why I actually thought that Evie had the same impression and let Reed do everything for her …

I mean, she (and Russell) vanished – after she promised Reed that she wouldn’t do this again. She had her reasons and in some weird way I half-understood them but in her absence she wasn’t herself. And she would rather die than spend time with Reed who doesn’t want to go on living without her? Ähm…? (I hope it is clear what I mean.)

Then … I didn’t get what this was about when Russell was ~talking for a few chapters in the middle. There weren’t many special things that happened especially to him within those chapters. I mean, I know that he’s Evie’s soul-mate and that he’s important for her but I don’t know what his PoV was about … By the way, I have the impression that the love triangle between Reed, Evie and Russell will have its climax in book 3 … especially when Russell discovers what happened between Evie and Reed.

And second about him: his accent. Within Evie’s PoVs it wasn’t really difficult understanding him after a while. But reading whole chapters out of his PoV was hard for me. (I’m not a native speaker, I’m german). It was difficult to read and I was REALLY glad when it was Evie’s turn again – not because that meant she would think about Reed again more often (*lol*) and that he would return.

The accent-thing was even more difficult for me when the sort-of-vampires appeared. With their irish (?) accent I had even more problems than with Russell’s.
Btw, it was also a bit weird that Evie was lulled so fast by them.

I really hope in book 3 everything turns out to be good 😀 Though I had a few problems with book 2 I cannot wait for the next one!

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

