Review: Amy A. Bartol – Inescapable (The Premonition #1)

Blurb: My name is Evie Claremont and this was to be the making of me–my freshman year of college. I had been hoping that once I had arrived on Crestwood’s campus, the nightmare that I’ve been having would go away. It hasn’t.

I may be an inexperienced seventeen-year-old, but I’m grounded…sane. Since meeting sophomore Reed Wellington, however, nothing makes any sense. Whenever he is near, I feel an attraction to him–a magnetic kind of force pulling me towards him. I know what you’re thinking…that sounds fairly awesome. Yeah, it would–if he liked me, but Reed acts as if I’m the worst thing that’s ever happened to Crestwood…or him. But, get this, for some reason every time I turn around he’s there, barging into my life.

What is the secret he is keeping from me? I’m hoping that it is anything but what I expect: that he is not exactly normal…and neither am I. So maybe Crestwood won’t be the making of me, but it could be the breaking of me. I have been left to wonder if the dark future my dream is foretelling is…inescapable. (source: goodreads.com)

When I started reading this book I had no idea what this story is about. There were no hints in the description like in other books. This made it very interesting though I started reading.
Through the first third I was either enjoying or hating this. But one of my thoughts was „please no vampires, please no vampires!“ because there were severeal facts that made me think about those creatures. Anyway, I’m thankful that I wasn’t right.

The story was great! It was an awesome read and I totally fell for it ♥ The characters were great, I really liked Evie. She’s a great main character and I liked it that she wasn’t really happy when she discovered what ~creature she actually was.
And … Reed. Oh GOD, I totally fell in love with him – even though I must confess that I didn’t really like him at the beginning. But his behaviour towards Evie was comprehensible … in some points.
Russel … yeah … I don’t really know what to think about him, he’s nice but he kind of annoys me – especially after what happened in the end.

What I also liked were the elements of surprise. There were several things that I didn’t expect. I don’t want to spoil them but those who read the book would possibly know what I’m talking about.

What I’m not sure whether to like or to dislike are the Twilight-parallels. To be clear: there weren’t as many as it sounds. There were only a few but those were very explicit. I HAD to compare it. I liked the Twilight-Saga (well, at least 3 out of 4 books) and I actually hate comparing books to Edward/Bella but I don’t really know what to think about this.

But for all that I’m in love with the story. ♥

4 of 5 stars!

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Fantasy abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

