Review: Veronica Roth – Insurgent (Divergent #2)

Blurb: One choice can transform you–or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves–and herself–while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable–and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so. (source: goodreads.com)

After finishing Insurgent I was a little disappointed. Perhaps it was because of expecting a little too much of the sequel of Divergent. The first book was nearly perfect, I never met a female main character that didn’t annoy me. Tris was the coolest girl in a YA-novel ever!

But in Insurgent she was annoying as hell. Many of her decisions weren’t really comprehensible for me. I shook my head a lot of times because I didn’t see the reasons. Four (I refuse to call him Tobias although Tris did it nearly 90% in the book. I don’t like his real name) was also not at his best behavior in this book. He also annoyed me very often.
But the worst thing in the book was that Tris and Four worked against each other. Okay, they are only human and they should think for themselves but in the first book they were a unit and in the sequel Four was all bossy and Tris did ALWAYS the opposite of what she was told.

Besides that Insurgent was a great read! I finished it in 2 days because I couldn’t put it down. I loved all the little scenes where Tris and Four were only a couple in love. I missed Christina and the other Dauntless we met in Divergent – even Peter. (Well, this was a surprise for me, too xD)

I love the world Veronica Roth has created and after the ending (“WTF?” and “HOLY SHIT” were my first reactions xD) I can’t wait for book 3! I’m really curious how the series will end and I hope Tris and Four can work out their problems!

4 of 5 stars!

Über Caro

Durchgeknallte Mathe-Studentin, deren Lieblingstiere flauschige Schafe sind und die ohne Bücher, Musik und TV-Serien nicht leben kann.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Buch-Rezensionen, YA-Dystopie-Post-Apokalypse abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen / Leave a comment

